There is nothing that I can say about the horrible events at the Boston marathon yesterday that hasn’t already been said or will in any way make it easier to process. That is just the thing, how do you process such an event?

This post is more for future me, who will maybe some day be able to process this. This is especially for future me who in exactly 2 months will cross my first marathon finish line. That finish line has been on my mind for several months; every time I want to give up, I think about how it will feel on June 16th to cross that line and know that my hard work paid off. Knowing that others share that same dream and motivation is what establishes such a strong community and bond among runners.

So to think that someone would deliberately hurt people at the very place that symbolizes human strength and spirit, to target those who have sacrificed so much for so many months, and those who came to support and congratulate their loved ones for the hard work… it’s just too much.

June 16th is going to be a bittersweet day, and as I cross that finish line, those whose lives were destroyed by that same dream will definitely be on my mind.

 photo signature_zpsb909305c.png

Comments on: "Thoughts on the Boston Marathon" (3)

  1. well said, Rachel.

  2. Oh…and Congratulations on training for a marathon. That takes so much dedication and hard work!

  3. Rachel, I may be on the other side of the world but we are all affected by the events at the Boston Marathon – so random, so horrible. Thinking of all my friends in the US today.

Leave a Reply

