Remember how a couple of weeks ago I was so excited about the deep fried pickles I had in a pub in Big Sur?

Well I have been craving them since. But since I am no longer on vacation, I can’t indulge in every fried food craving I get (believe me, that’s all I’d eat).  Enter Pinterest, where a quick search of “fried pickles” brought me dozens of recipes. What I concocted is my combination of a few recipes, with my favorite secret weapon added in.

Here’s what you need:

  • Pickle chips, either the classic sandwich kind of bread and butter pickles. I experimented with both, and they each tasted good to me; just depends on your taste.
  • About 3/4 cup of wheat flower
  • about 1 1/2 cups of Panko bread crumbs
  • 2 egg whites
  • your favorite hot sauce
  • Parmesan cheese, if you’re feeling it
  • And probably my newest favorite ingredient, this:
If you can get your hands on this smoke seasoning, do it! It adds an incredible smoky spice that isn’t overwhelming and is phenomenal when mixed in with the bread crumbs in this recipe.
So here’s what you do:
Preheat your oven to broil, and spray non-stick cooking spray on wire racks, then put them on top of a baking sheet.
Whisk some egg whites together, and add in your favorite hot sauce (for these I like Frank’s Hot Sauce) and some salt and pepper.
In a shallow bowl, mix the bread crumbs with the smoke seasoning and the Parmesan cheese, and set up another shallow bowl with some flour.
Then dredge each pickle through flour, dip into the egg mixture, then coat with the bread crumb mixture. Place the coated pickles on the wire rack, and broil for about 3 minutes, then flip them over and broil about 3 more minutes.

Voila! A guilt-free snack that is perfect for summer BBQs and lazy weekend afternoons. They’re great dipped in ranch dressing (TJ’s had a low fat Parmesan ranch dressing that is good, or you can also make a healthy concoction of your own from greek yogurt and your favorite seasonings). 

And yes, I totally double dipped this bad boy!

 photo signature_zpsb909305c.png

Comments on: "Skinny Oven "Fried" Pickles" (10)

  1. These look kind of amazing. Def going to give this seasoning a try. Isn't TJ's the best?!

  2. Awesome! I love fried pickles, but not the frying part, definitely will be trying this soon šŸ™‚

  3. I love fried pickles! Going to have to try this!

  4. Okay, I don't like pickles, but maybe the fried would make it all better! OR zucchini. =)Recent Post: Evy's Tree Giveaway

  5. You are the best. I am absolutely making these ASAP!

  6. oh my gosh YUM. thanks for the recipe. I just pinned it on Pinterest. (I hope that is okay) if not let me know and I will take it down!-<3 your new followerChar

  7. That is absolutely ok! Thanks! šŸ™‚

  8. I LOVE fried pickles!!! Can't wait to make these. New follower.

  9. yummmm sounds like such a good recipe. love fried pickles!– jackiejade.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

