This week C and I are road tripping the new Tesla up the central coast to test out range and ease of finding charging stations (so far, so good). We’ve been hanging out in Santa Barbara and my all time favorite place, Big Sur. 

So with that in mind, here are the things that are rocking my world this week:


1. Coppola Keratin dry shampoo spray.

image via

I had another keratin treatment just before I left, which meant no washing my hair or putting it up for four days. Thank god for this dry shampoo, mostly for C’s sake. 
BTW, a post about Keratin treatments will be coming soon. If you have questions about it, let me know in the comments. 

2. Hotels/ cabins/restaurants that offer free Wifi. Or Weefee as they pronounce it everywhere else in the world. Look. Wifi should come with your lodging. Don’t charge guests for wifi. Don’t tell me that the beautiful view is their answer to wifi. This is 2013, and a lot of people, like myself and my significant other, need to remain connected for work purposes.
Not only did the Canary hotel have a wonderful bed, they had free effing wifi!


3. Deep. Fried. Pickles. 
Eff yeah. I understand that these are nothing new to southerners, but to a California girl like myself,  these were a revelation. 

I found these beauties at the Maiden Publick House in Big Sur. There were more to the order, but I was obviously distracted before taking a picture.

4. Lovely small bookstores with cats that roam the premises. 
There are a few that I have come across– Village Bookstore in San Clemente comes to mind– but nothing beats The Henry Miller Library  in Big Sur. 


This is Theo. He’s a bit indifferent to guests who stop in and he naps on the deck nestled among the Redwood trees. He has a good life. The Henry Miller Library is a good place with coffee and wifi and good books.

5. Hikes that take you to majestic views.
I will be posting more about Big Sur in the future, but as I sit in a pub with fried pickles and free wifi, I thought I’d share this with you all:



Heaven. On. Earth. And this is just across the highway from the towering redwood trees.

As usual, since it’s Friday and I like to join Whitney to Backthatazzup, I leave you with this, in honor of our road trip:


Linking up with:

 photo H54Fbutton-triangle_zps678b65ba.jpg





 photo signature_zpsb909305c.png

Comments on: "Friday Faves, Road Trip Edition" (20)

  1. I LOVE Big Sur. Bryan and I are planning on staying at Deetjen's Big Sur Inn for our Anniversary this year. I can't wait.Also, Deep fried pickles-YUM.

  2. New blog follower! ๐Ÿ™‚ Love your blog!!Would love to be blogger friends! I'm over at lbinwonderland.blogspot.comCheers!LB

  3. I love that song. Also, I have a secret obsession for deep fried pickles and they have the best ones at the MN state fair.

  4. gorgeous photos! and yeah, fried pickles are the best and wifi is totally necessary! have a great weekend!– jackiejade.blogspot.com

  5. Awesome! I have never stayed at Deetjen's, but it's right there next to the Henry Miller Library and Nepenthe, and both are just wonderful. The deep fried pickles are a little way up the road at Maiden Publick House, next to the village shops and River Inn. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Thanks LB! I will check out your blog, and thanks for the follow!

  7. The song always makes me think of Clueless. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Thanks! It's hard to take a bad photo in such a lovely place! I will have to dedicate an entire post to Big Sur soon!

  9. Theo looks just like my old roomates cat- random! What I really wanted to say is that I stopped by from Northern Belle and I'm glad I did. Now I'm following along. Loveee the banner by the way!

  10. Never heard of deep fried pickles, kinda want to try them now!Thanks for hosting ^^!Dropping by from the GFC Blog Hop.New follower with GFCGabsG(BeautyMadness)http://beautymadn3ss.blogspot.com/http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/4579613/beauty-madness

  11. I work in the event planning business and yes, WiFi SHOULD come with your room. What a rip off! A lo of hotels are starting to catch on now though..so it's coming! Happy Friday!Tiffanywww.asplendidoccasion.wordpress.com

  12. I agree completely with you about wifi. I'm always surprised when I go somewhere for a weekend and am told "We don't have wifi, we want it to be a relaxing experience while our guests are here." I mean, I like the idea of being completely disconnected, but most people don't have the option of being disconnected without consequences. I'm dying to try fried pickles. They aren't served anywhere in my area and it is driving me crazy! I love fried jalapeรฑos and I can only imagine how bomb fried pickles are.

  13. Hello I am your newest follower from the blog hop on your blog would love for you to follow me back. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ Feel free to Like or Follow me on my other media sites!!!http://taracl2011.blogspot.comhttp://pinterest.com/taracl85/https://twitter.com/LiveLaughhLoveehttp://www.facebook.com/pages/LiveLaughLove/123392547737823http://www.networkedblogs.com/blog/taracl

  14. Oh you are so tempting me with those fried pickles!! Thanks for hosting the GFC Hop! Now following via GFC:))HugsPS Would love to invite you to join Lets Get Social Sunday and link up your blog and all you social sites to meet new friends and gain more followers:)) (live right now at http://www.myturnforus.com/2013/04/lets-get-social-15.html)Hoping to see you there!!

  15. Thanks Adriana! Elise at http://scottandelisehunter.blogspot.com/ designed it for me!

  16. Thanks Gabs! Definitely try deep fried pickles if you get the chance!

  17. I am glad you agree with me, Tiffany! I love the photos on your blog, BTW.

  18. Hi Grey! Yes! My work allows me plenty of vacation time with the caveat that I need to be able to check in online. So without wifi, no, it's not relaxing! Hopefully you'll find some deep fried pickles in your area soon– or maybe try making them at home with a deep fryer if you're feeling adventurous! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  19. Fried pickles sound peculiar.. but very very good.

  20. Looks like you're having a great time on your trip! I'm looking forward to your post about keratin treatments, too!

Leave a Reply

