Sexy Shepherd’s Pie

You’ve maybe heard of Engagement Chicken. You can’t seem me now, but I am rolling my eyes, as I do every time that stupid idea is mentioned. Well, this dish probably won’t get a man to produce a ring (though if it does, let me know!), but I will guarantee that it will lead to some snuggles and probably sexy time.

Hey, I’ll take that.

Or maybe you want to cook something nutritious for your family; this is a good go-to for that as well!

The best part about shepherd’s pie is that you can customize it to your preferences. At the heart of it, it’s meat and potatoes, so you’re already off to a good start. Don’t like peas? Don’t add ’em. You can add whatever veggies you want and spice it up however you like.

Sorry, I have no self-control to take a good picture when this is in front of me. Also, I covered my plate in freshly ground pepper.

Here’s what you need:

1lb ground sirloin. Go for the 90/10 stuff; you want lean and good quality meat.
About 3/4 cup of diced white onion
About a spoonful of minced garlic
Your favorite kind of mushrooms (optional. I like crimini here)
A can of diced tomatoes (with juices)
about 1/2 cup of good red wine (I think a syrrah goes well in here)
Some ketchup
Crushed red pepper (optional. I like my food spicy)
Whatever veggie mixture you want. I like Trader Joe’s frozen veggie blend, but you can also add canned veggies, freshly diced veggies, whatever you want.
Mashed potatoes. You don’t have to make them from scratch, but it’s better that way
Parmesan cheese.

 To Make:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Sautee the onions, garlic, and mushrooms on medium heat until soft and golden. Add in the sirloin and cook through until it’s no longer, well, raw. Add the tomatoes and red wine, and let simmer for about 15-20 minutes until it reduces. Add as much salt, pepper, crushed red pepper as you like. Once the sauce has reduced, add in a little ketchup to thicken up the sauce and to your own taste preference.

In the mean time, make the mashed potatoes. I take 3 large, peeled potatoes, dice them, and add to boiling water for about 7 minutes. Strain the potatoes, then add about half a stick of butter, a cup or so of milk, a small spoonful of minced garlic, and some parmesean cheese. I like to beat them with a hand mixer to get them nice and soft for this dish– lumpy potatoes don’t work as well.

If you’re veggies are raw or frozen, sautee them for a couple of minutes until they’re warm and soft.

In a large glass baking dish, layer half of the meat and sauce, the veggies, half of the potatoes, and then layer again the remaining meat and veggies. Grate or shave Parmesan cheese over the top, then bake for about 25 minutes until the edges are golden brown.
Let cool for about 5 minutes, then serve while hot.

Pair this with a bold red wine like a syrrah or cab. I like serving this with roasted asparagus or a crisp green salad.
Easy-peasy and delicious. And for what likely follows this meal if you’re making it for your significant other…you’re welcome…

 photo signature_zpsb909305c.png

Comments on: "Sexy Shepherd’s Pie" (12)

  1. I had never heard of engagement chicken before. This looks so good! I think your picture turned out great!

  2. Yum! Thanks for the recipe.

  3. This looks truly amazing! I actually may have to make this for dinner tonight!Some Snapshots BlogJess

  4. Okay I pinned it, so if I don`t make it tonight then I definitely will soon 🙂

  5. Lol I might just need to try that chicken and see if it really does work!

  6. Oh my yummy!!!! Can't wait to try this!!THanks for the reipeSo excied to be your newest follower!XOAsh@ABpetitehttp://abpetite.blogspot.com/

  7. Yum! Looks tasty! Would love to follow one another? Let me know! :)http://cbijicollection.blogspot.ca/

  8. I'm following GFC from Friend Connect Blog Hop. please return the favor and follow me back at Evoluchun's Miscellaneous

  9. Awesome! Thanks!

  10. Thanks! The pic was taken with my phone! 🙂

  11. Thanks! I'll be checking out your blog soon!

Leave a Reply

