How to Not Suck at Life

Today is my birthday, and since I am now older and wiser, I thought I’d pass along some of my wisdom. 

In honor of my 32nd birthday, I give you:
32 Rules for How To Not Suck At Life
  1.        Wear sunscreen every day if you still want to be carded in your 30s
    2.       Pay off debt as soon as you possible.
    3.       Tip well. 15% is not a good tip.
    4.       Don’t talk shit about your ex in public. Even if he/she is a douche, if you tell everyone this, then you look like the douche.
    5.       Exercise often—try to sweat every day. Find an activity that you actually like doing.
    6.       When in a relationship, even when you’re not in the mood, just put out. The 20 minutes or whatever goes a long way in keeping a happy relationship.
    7.     Know that the best relationship you can have is with yourself. If you need someone else in order to be happy, you won’t ever be happy and your relationships will fail. Find out how to make yourself happy.
    8.       Know that everyone is better than you at something.
    9.       Don’t remain friends with someone just because of history. If they’re toxic, cut them out of your life.
    10.   Get an education. Anyone who tells you it isn’t important is probably trying to feel better about their own life decisions. 
    11.   Compliment others when they deserve it.
    12.   Find a job that truly makes you happy, even if it doesn’t pay a lot. When you’re happy and good at what you do, the money finds a way of working itself out.
    13.   Get as much sleep as you can. Some may think this makes you lazy, but they probably think that because they are tired and cranky.
    14.   Show compassion to others, even when you find it hard to do so.
    15.   Drink plenty of water when you’re drinking if you don’t want to be hungover the next day. Asprin before sleep works wonders too.
    16.   Know that the person that you compare yourself to probably compares her/himself to someone else.
    17.   Learn your way around the kitchen and have a signature dish that will impress the person you desire.
    18.   Things do happen for a reason, and more often than not, that reason has to do with your choices. So learn from them.
    19.   Set a goal that you think is impossible, and then commit yourself to achieving it
    20.   Do things that scare you.
    My birthday last year. I was rappelling in Costa Rica, about to drop 140 feet.!
    21.   When you’re in a relationship, make sure that you like the person you are when you are around him or her.  No matter what people may say, you DO change when you’re in a relationship, but make sure that it is for the better.
    22.   It’s not what you wear, but how you wear it. If you’re not confident in what you’re wearing, it will show. If you like an outfit, then rock it!
    23.   Educate yourself about wine so that you know what you like and why, and then find an inexpensive version of what you like.
    24.   Family time is the most important time.
    25.   Know that the scale doesn’t lie, but it also tells a complicated story. Don’t let it rule your life.
    26.   See as much of the world as you can. Visit places where you don’t speak the language.
    27.   When you’re bored, read. Reading is sexy.
    28.   Undermining your competition will never get you very far in the end. Spend your energy just being better than the competition.
    29.   Take time to look up the meaning of phrases before using them if you’re not completely sure what they mean.
    30.   Remind yourself daily of all that you have to be thankful for.
    31.   No one likes to receive criticism, but learn from it instead of shutting it out or getting too angry.
    32.   Don’t take yourself too seriously.
    But if you read my blog, I feel I can safely assume that you don’t suck at life, at least not too badly. So tell me, what would you add to this list?

Comments on: "How to Not Suck at Life" (18)

  1. Oh my gosh, I loved reading every single rule. Being thankful is soo so sooo important! The one rule that really stuck out to me was number 6 and 13. I love them. I would add to the list to always have a goal for yourself – personal, emotional, physical, anything – and stick to it! no matter how small!Thanks for sharing these!Madalyn

  2. These are so great! Oh man, I definitely want to go to Costa Rica!Happy birthday!!

  3. Love this! I can honestly say that I 100% agree with everything, lol at #6. Here's to us gals born in 1981, I'll be celebrating 32 this year, too! Happy birthday!-kellyHonor Courage Commitment

  4. Here you go…#33—Be who you are and don't make excuses for it. If people don't like you, then they aren't worth it.

  5. Ohhh…and…#34—We can agree to disagree and still like each other for it.

  6. I love this. (: I may even print it out and put it somewhere where I'll read it often.Also, number six made me laugh. It's so true!

  7. I love this! Especially #5…I'm a sweat junkie 😉 I'd add to the list don't 'love' just to love. Make sure that the person you're with is the person you love for the right reasons. Too many girls love the idea of being in love but have never actually experienced it! Relationships take work and it isn't always a fairy tale so don't just get into one to be in one. Be confident and happy in being single. If you can't be comfortable in that state of your life, your relationships will always suffer! You must bring a whole you to a relationship…a relationship will not create that for you!

  8. I love 12 …..I've been reading your blog and I have nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award if you do it, let me know http://adoseofjules.blogspot.com/2013/03/my-first-liebster-award.html. Have a great day!!!!!

  9. Wow, I am so honored, thanks! I will be working on that later today!

  10. Nice! Yes, I totally agree with you, and wish I had understood that better in my 20s!

  11. I love this, and completely agree!

  12. Thanks, Kelly! Yay for being born in 1981! 🙂

  13. Thanks! We went last year for my birthday. We found a package on Groupon and it was very, very affordable.

  14. Nice! I completely agree about always having a goal.

  15. This is a great list. I'm in my 40s and some of these items really hit home right now. Thanks and Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

