High Five for Friday

It’s Friday! And away we go with 5 things I am loving this week:

1. The color Mint.

I am seeing it everywhere this spring, and I am smitten.

all via Pinterest.

2. Sriracha sauce. 

Ohh, famed rooster sauce. We both came out of Rosemead, California in the 1980s. Maybe that is why I love you in almost everything. Your garlicky heat takes any plain meal and makes it spectacular. Take for instance the bland lentil soup I just ate. It was SO dull that I almost threw it out, until you came along and saved my taste buds. Remember that time I put you on a bagel with cream cheese and it was nothing short of a revelation? To be fair, you’re always at the top of my list, but since minutes ago you rescued my dinner, I am giving you a shout out.

3. Anne Hathaway. And Jennifer Lawrence. And what THIS article has to say about women’s feelings on both of them.

Here’s an excerpt:

We liked Anne, basically, when she behaved exactly the way a lot of us would if we were one of the most well-known celebrities in the world.
We hate her, in short, because we know, deep in our hearts, that if we were as famous, we’d act exactly the same.
We like to believe we wouldn’t. It’s much nicer to believe that we’d be just like Jennifer Lawrence, laughing about how dieting sucks and falling on the stairs without really worrying about it. Being awesome, basically. We like to believe that we would spend every second of every day being effortlessly off-the-cuff cool and funny, just like Jennifer Lawrence.
We wouldn’t.

This.  Yes. I love to think I’d be as cool and witty as Jennifer Lawrence, but really, I’d be more awkward than Anne. So would all of us.
I didn’t know that there was so much hatred out there for Anne Hathaway.
I, for one, love her. And even if you don’t, realize your own inner geeky awkward goddess and embrace her!

4. Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain.

I don’t like the feel of lipstick and I am no good at putting it on and keeping it on. I love the way this lip stain/balm has lasting, subtle color AND it feels like a lip balm, rather than lip stick. “Darling” and “Lovesick” are my favorites. 

5. Neil DeGrasse Tyson. 
Did you see him on The Daily Show?
I won’t pretend that I understand any astrophysics. But I love how he has become a pop culture icon with the younger kids (or at least a great meme!). I love his unabashed love of science, the way he gets so excited while talking about it that his arms flail and he giggles uncontrollably. It makes me happy.
Neil, I fucking love science too.
Comments on: "High Five for Friday" (18)

  1. Hi! I have been so curious about the lipstains from Revlon but for some odd reason I didn't want to shell out the $5 because I tried the Covergirl lip stains and was soo disappointed!! I found you via a comment of Bonnie's at Life of Bon's site. I'm a grad students at CSUF!!!

  2. Small world! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  3. Hi! Thanks for following my blog Dream it, Darling and linking up with the Aloha Friday Blog Hop! I am now following you and I love your blog!Yaya http://dreamitdarling.blogspot.co.uk/2013/03/aloha-friday-blog-hop.html

  4. Thanks for stopping by:). You've got a new follower in return! Happy Friday:)!! Alice @ The Owl's Skull

  5. hey there! thank so much for linking up with aloha friday and following:) i am happily following back. i don't post much on my design (although i really need to start to post my photos, and clients spaces) but i will happily give you advice anytime when you are ready to remodel. :)oh, i have the cherish color of the kissable balm- it's super good!have a great day!kendrakaypahukoa.blogspot.com

  6. Hi Rachel, Thanks for the mint post. I forget how pretty this color can be. It made me smile to see the "dear siracha sauce" paragraph. Thanks for stopping by and I am your newest follwer!Vickie

  7. Oh gosh, I love mint too.It's a good trend to have.Also. Found you through the blog hop. (: Newest follower here!

  8. Adorable blog! I like you am obsessing over mint 🙂 Just purchased some jeans!! Found you through find and follow friday :)Jamie @ Simplesouthernways.blogspot.com

  9. Thanks for stopping by, Yaya! I look forward to reading your posts!

  10. Thanks, Kendra! I would love to see photos of your clients' spaces some time!

  11. Thanks Jamie! I am looking for the perfect pair of mint skinny jeans. I am thinking about snapping up a pair I saw at Forever 21.

  12. I high five every one of your High Fives this week! Especially Neil DeGrasse Tyson!julee @ D.I.Y. Louisville

  13. Great pins, the maxi dress is absolutely gorgeous!!!! Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful look with the link up party last week, would love to see you back today !!!!Many kisseshttp://dcinstyle.com/

  14. i love this too!!!! love the mint green shade and those revlon lip balm stains are the best!! 😀 Click me for my NEW BLOG

Leave a Reply

