For anyone just tuning in (hi new followers!), I am training for my first ever marathon–this June in San Francisco.

Weeks 5 and 6 were supposed to be pretty standard, distance lengthening weeks, with the longer Saturday run being 6 and 8 miles, respectively.

But it has not been an easy few weeks.

During weeks 3 and 4, I had been having some obnoxious stomach pain, and not just while running. I kept thinking it would go away, or that it was from eating something too spicy (I eat a lot of spicy food) but it kept worsening until it made it too difficult to run. I found myself having to stop in the middle of runs and refrain from doubling over, as it felt like my stomach was a bubbling cauldron of poison. The more I ran, the more it felt like I was going to vomit bile. I was popping Tums all day, but to no avail. Not fun!

Fortunately, my doctor it also my loving boyfriend, and he put me on Omeprazole, which is the same thing as Prilosec. Thanks to horrible marketing, I associated Prilosec with big fat rednecks who want to eat more chili dogs without heart burn– that’s not at all what my problem is!

This is not me.

But Omeprazole is also what doctors use to treat stomach ulcers and gastritis, which are more likely the cause of my pain.

So without the stomach pain, running felt enjoyable again, and I was like, let’s do this! On my weekday shorter runs (4 miles) I was feeling great, but then, on a Saturday in Chinatown, I sprained my ankle.

Nooo! It was only a minor sprain, fortunately, but it did sideline me from running for 10 days.

Sigh.
So this week, on what is actually my 7th week of training, I jumped back into week 6. I ran a little slower and more gingerly on my ankle at first. Yesterday, on Saturday, I went out for the 8 mile run.
I was nervous at first– after all, it had been a couple of weeks since I had run 6 miles, and that was a lousy 6 miles thanks to the stomach issues. My ankle still needed bracing, and I was tired and sore from a strength training work the day before.

But I did it. I ran 4 miles up the coast to Sunset Beach and back, only stopping at the half way point to adjust that ankle brace. I still ran slower than I’d like, but I did it. I completed the full 8 miles without stopping or slowing down.

I took this picture minutes after I finished, around 5:30 p.m. at Huntington Beach.

Now that’s what I call a congratulatory sunset! Thanks sky, I am proud of me too.
Last night I was pretty sore, and I can still feel it a little bit today. I have a 3 mile easy run later today, which will hopefully help shake off some of the soreness. And while it hurts to go up and down the stairs, it is totally worth it. I have to remind myself that that pain is just weakness leaving the body. And every week as I get a little bit stronger, and run a little harder, I realize that I can do this.
Comments on: "Marathon Training Recap weeks 5-6" (8)

  1. Running a marathon is something to be really proud of! Keep up the good work and even if you have a few setbacks remember you're doing something a lot of people can't or won't.Jillian – PS, if you have a moment, I'd like to invite you to check out the giveaway for a $50.00 gift card to Shabby Apple! http://epic-thread.blogspot.com/2013/03/shabby-apple-giveaway.html

  2. Thanks for the words of encouragement! I will be sure to check out your giveaway.

  3. Running a marathon may seem daunting but think of the thousands of people who do it all of the time. It makes it seem that much more possible. You're going to be so proud of yourself when you've accomplished this so don't give up!! You're going to do amazing 🙂 That sunset is gorgeous by the way. Thanks for following me!!~Christine

  4. Thanks for the words of encouragement, Christine! And yep, sunsets like that are one of the best parts of living in a beach town! 🙂

  5. Wow good for you! One day at a time or one run at a time! You will be so proud of yourself when your done! I run a lot but have never attempted a marathon though. This post may have made me want to run one though=) That sunset is gorgeous!! Thanks for following me!Rachel

  6. Thanks for the words of inspiration! And yes, one day at a time, one run at a time. Some days when I just don't run well, I have to remind myself that there's always another run tomorrow. 🙂

  7. Thanks! Honestly, part of what keeps me motivated is posting about it on my blog. If I don't follow through, I will look like a quitter to everyone, and I can't have that!

Leave a Reply

