Oh, Pinterest. You’re such a great idea, and I have many boards dedicated to ideas for our upcoming home remodel, but sometimes you make me wonder.

I saw this cartoon and had a good laugh:

Many women who use you have been inspired to organize their homes and cook a new recipe, and that’s not really a bad thing, if that’s what they’re in to. You’ve tapped into the competitive nature of many women who use you; I would be willing to bet that most of the projects women try are more inspired by the “oohs” and “awwws” they hope to receive from women than by men. And that’s cool, whatever makes them happy and keeps them busy. I consider myself a third wave feminist like that.

But then I find other popular pins that really make me wonder, Pinterest. I’m not blaming this on you, by any means. I am just sad that your vast popularity encourages and allows women to share these offensive ideas without any critical thinking. Perhaps you’re just bringing to light attitudes that I was blissfully unaware still exist.

Like this one, for example:

Pinterest, why do women choose to identify themselves as trivial, vacuous, and inferior? Why would they say, and then re-say over and over by repinning, that this is what it means to be a woman? The last time I checked, I have a vagina, and I identify myself as a woman, but I would not use any of these sentences to describe why I am a woman. I mean, this is just insulting! To say that being a woman means you are inherently incapable of math calculations? Why encourage this stereotype, when it’s really just that, a stereotype, and one that has kept women from many of the high paying, well-respected professions that they would be perfectly capable of?
Look, I know I make bone-headed mistakes like pushing a door that says “Pull.” But that’s because I was absent- minded at that moment, and not because I have a vagina. My boyfriend sometimes makes that mistake at doors, and I assure you, he is not a woman. 
Then there is this. This has been repinned hundreds of times with the caption “Best advice ever.”

Pinterest, why are women spreading THIS as the “best advice ever?” Surely you agree with me that this is ludicrous, right?
I mean, I maybe understand the sentiment about advising that a woman doesn’t go around talking shit about her husband; I’ll agree to that. But shouldn’t everyone be able to talk to a family member, close friend, or therapist about problems they may have with their significant other? Is this pin suggesting that if a husband displays troubling behavior, a woman should just zip it and deal? If a husband drinks to excess, gambles away their money, or cheats, should a woman keep that to herself for fear of ever speaking ill of her husband??

Now, open communication is (I think) the most important trait of a healthy relationship, and sure, a couple should talk out their problems. But to say that the best advice ever is to never “talk bad” about a husband ever, to anyone, is harmful (not to mention unrealistic).

And it hurts my heart, Pinterest, to see that women are the ones spreading this and encouraging one another to believe that this is the most important part of being a good wife.

Pinterest, I want to emphasize that I don’t blame this on you. I have learned many great tips and ideas from other women who use your site. But I am afraid of these women, these ones who are afraid of their own womanhood and capabilities and intelligence, and choose to perpetuate negative stereotypes and behaviors.

It’s so paradoxical how clever websites like yourself can somehow manage to drive the women’s movement back by several decades…

Comments on: "Dear Pinterest, Please Make Them Stop." (10)

  1. I'm so addicted to Pinterest, so many incredible projects there, I wish I had time to try more than I can!http://dcinstyle.com/

  2. There are a lot of great projects, for sure! I have so many that I would like to try, but probably won't get to until the Summer.

  3. Thank you for linking up at the GFC collective! I love that first one about pinterest… so true! hahaha Thank you for following, I am following you right back lovely lady 🙂

  4. Thanks! Yay, friends! I look forward to reading your posts!

  5. You pose some interesting questions about Pinterest. For the most part Pinterest makes me feels inferior to EVERYONE – no matter what recipe I cook or DIY I do, mine will never look as good as the Pin! EVER.If only that first quote said "I'm Human, I push doors when I say pull…" I wouldn't feel quite so uncomfortable with it.

  6. Dierdre, yes, yes and Yes! Pinterest at times makes me feel inferior too! I'll make a recipe but it will look nowhere near as pretty, and then I just feel like I can never make it as well.And YES, if it had only said "I'm human…"Thanks for the comment!

  7. I just found your blog, and OMG, I love this post. I'm stunned by the amount of crap I see on Pinterest, from ridiculous thinspo pins (no one should idolize a picture of a woman whose rib cage and hip bones protrude like a starving refugee's!) to the weird throwback stereotypes about women. I find that odd little communities tend to form on Pinterest (the thinspo crowd, for example), and people within those subcultures create pins that reinforce some really damaging attitides. Thank you for shedding light on some of this!

  8. Lillian, thanks! Your comment made my day!

  9. You crack me up, Rachel! I can think of better advice then that one. If my hubby ticks me off you can believe me I will be talking smack. Isn't that what girlfriends do when they get together…LOL

  10. Hehe, YES! You have to vent to someone, right?!

Leave a Reply

