Did you see that episode of Real Housewives of Atlanta (come on, you can admit to watching it) when Kenya, in hopes of getting her beau to propose to her, “cooks” a special dinner by microwaving a meal from Trader Joe’s and telling him how hard she worked on it?

Well, minus the whole lying about the work part, I have to confess that is often my style of cooking. On nights when I don’t get home until after 7 and I am starving, even a 30 minute meal is too much work.

But unlike Kenya from RHOA, I like to brag about how easy a delicious meal was. So this is one of my favorite go-to healthy meals. I didn’t do too good of a job of taking pictures because I was too busy salivating and whispering, oh salad, get in ma belly…

Blackened Salmon Caesar Salad, Trader Joe’s Style

What you need are the fillets of Cajun style salmon, a bag of Caesar salad mix, and a container of mini sugar plum tomatoes.
I usually just grill up the fillets in a pan for about 5-6 minutes on each side. While they’re grilling, I cut the tomatoes into halves. Then I mix the dressing with the lettuce, tomatoes, croutons, and parmesean cheese. Once the salmon is ready, I pull it apart with a fork into large chunks, and toss into the salad.
That’s it.
Now, the Cajun salmon has a good kick to it. I add Sriracha or crushed red pepper to almost all of my food, and I thought that the salmon had a good amount of spice, so some may call it extra spicy. The lettuce helps cool down your tongue, though. It makes a big ol’ salad, more than enough for 2, but don’t worry about pigging out on it, because the dressing is lite and the salmon is good for you. 
Warning: this salad is highly addictive and you may want it several times a week. 
Comments on: "Blackened Salmon Caesar Salad, Trader Joe’s Style" (4)

  1. This looks pretty awesome. Stopping by from the hop. You have a new follower in me. <3www.krystalskitsch.comwww.sunnysoirees.com

  2. I'm not a huge salmon fan, but I have to admit this looks pretty good and I may just have to give it a try! Oh and your "ain't nobody got time for that" clip is hysterical! I've seen it a few times and it never fails to make me laugh!LisaP.S. Thanks for linking up to the GtKY weekend blog hop! 🙂

  3. Thanks! Yes, Sweet Brown always makes me laugh. I follow her on Instagram, and she is hysterical!The blackened salmon has a really mild flavor as far as the fish profile goes. It's spicy from the cajun seasoning, but it's a more mild salmon compared to others I have had. Looking forward to following your blog!

  4. Thanks Krystal! I;ll be following you as well!

Leave a Reply

