Sunday at the Swap Meet

I cannot bring myself to spend a lot of money on sunglasses. And by a lot of money, I mean like, more than $20. Whether they cost me $5 or $120, I will eventually scratch, break, or lose them, so I prefer the $5 variety. I often buy them from some vendors who come onto my campus a few times a semester, but since I scratched my last pair, I couldn’t wait until then.

So I made my first trip to the Huntington Beach Swap Meet. Every Saturday and Sunday, vendors come to the parking lot at Golden West College. It becomes a giant outdoor market where vendors sell everything from items they picked up at a yard sale or thrift store, to vendors selling surplus items, ethnic foods and candies, to electronics and mattresses. Some items I am sure “fell off the back of the truck,” but I don’t see the point in asking questions. I’d say that there you can find everything but the kitchen sink, but I did actually see a kitchen sink for sale.

So I went with $40 in my pocket and a plan to get three pairs of sunglasses and whatever else I fancied with the remaining $25. I wandered through the aisles for a couple of hours, listening to the families shout to one another in Spanish, Vietnamese and Tagalog and dodging children rushing through on scooters. Some stands blasted mariachi music, while the aroma of bbq pork wafted from food trucks, and tables included Sriracha and jars of onions and cilantro among their condiments.

All in all, I spent $38; here’s what I bought:

The 3 pairs of sunglasses I needed, a new straw fedora for beach days, a Stila lip stick, a Philosophy lip gloss, Kate Spade earrings, and an orchid.

The earrings were a real steal; at only $5, I kinda feel like I ripped them off. Here’s a better close up:

I think that they are from several seasons ago, and they gave me a very Downton Abbey feel, which I am obsessed with these days.

The orchid is gorgeous too. I’ve never had one, and since they are notoriously difficult to care for, I am excited about the challenge.

All in all, for under $40 I think I did well. Braving the chaos was well worth it, and I may go back next weekend for more plants.
XO, Rachel

Leave a Reply

