Last week I began tackling one of my ultimate bucket list items: running a marathon.

The plan is to run the San Francisco marathon on June 16th. I found this training schedule somewhere online (I honestly forget which site), and so this is what my next 5 1/2 months are going to look like:

Week
Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
1
3 mi
Rest
3 mi
CT
Rest
4 mi
3 mi EZ
2
3 miles
Rest
3 mi
Rest
CT or Rest
5 mi
3 mi EZ
3
3 mi
Rest
4 mi
CT
CT or Rest
6 mi
3 mi EZ
4
3 mi
Rest
4 mi
Rest
CT or Rest
4 mi
3 mi EZ
5
4 mi
Rest
4 mi
CT
CT or Rest
6 mi
3 mi EZ
6
4 mil
Rest
4 mi
CT
CT or Rest
8 mi
3 mi EZ
7
4 mi
Rest
4 mi
CT
CT or Rest
10 mi
3 mi EZ
8
4 mi
Rest
4 mi
CT
CT or Rest
8 mi
3 mi EZ
9
4 mi
Rest
4 mi
CT
CT or Rest
12 mi
Rest
10
4 mi
4 mi EZ
4 mi
Rest
CT or Rest
10 mi
3 mi EZ
11
4 mi
Rest
4 mi
CT
CT or Rest
14 mi
3 mi EZ
12
5 mi
Rest
5 mi
CT
CT or Rest
10 mi
3 mi EZ
13
4 mi
Rest
5 mi
CT
CT or Rest
16 mi
3 mi EZ
14
4 mi
Rest
5 mi
CT
CT or Rest
12 mi
3 mi EZ
15
4 mi
Rest
5 mi
CT
CT or Rest
18 mi
Rest
16
5 mi
3 mi EZ
6 mi
Rest
CT or Rest
12 mi
3 mi EZ
17
4 mi
Rest
6 mi
CT
CT or Rest
20 mi
3 mi EZ
18
4 mi
Rest
4 mi
CT
CT or Rest
12 mi
3 mi EZ
19
3 mi
Rest
3 mi
20 minutes
CT or Rest
8 mi
3 mi EZ
20
2 mi
Rest
Rest Day
20 minutes
20 minutes
Race Day!
Rest Day!

Most Tuesdays and Thursdays are devoted to yoga, and Friday cross training is going to be a mixture of activities to keep me interested. So far those include: Ballet Beautiful workouts, rock wall climbing (later this spring) kayaking, and hiking.

What I love about having this schedule is that so far it is keeping me disciplined. On those days when I just don’t wanna… I look at the schedule (it’s on the fridge now) and realize that I have to, or I will fall behind and not complete this marathon.

I’m also fortunate enough to live a mile and a half from the beach, which means that many of the runs are along the strand of Huntington Beach. Running is a lot easier when there is a cool ocean breeze, and beautiful sunsets, playful doggies, and hot surfers to look at.

When it comes to the longer Saturday runs, I run along the beach, heading north. From Huntington Beach you can see the skyline of downtown Long Beach, and each week my run will take me a little closer to Long Beach. Having a fun destination, and an incredibly scenic route, makes the goal of completing these long runs even more satisfying.

So wish me luck! I will keep you updated about my training, and hopefully in doing so motivate someone else to go all the way!

XO, Rachel

Leave a Reply

