Margarita Cupcakes!

This weekend we celebrated my girl Emily’s birthday with a slumber party in her aunt’s cabin in the woods. A fabulous time was had by all, but before all that, I scratched my head wondering what could be the perfect treat to bring that would celebrate such a fun, sexy girl as Em.

Well, margarita cupcakes, of course!

Now, there are some wonderful recipes for vegan margarita cupcakes, but these are not that. These are the easy-breezy kind you can make with that box of cake mix in the back of your pantry.

 They’re great for when you’re short on time but want to bring something unexpected and more…adult. I myself am sort of over the whole cupcake craze, but add tequila to any dessert and I am on board.

So here’s what I did. I followed the same ol’ directions on the back of a box of vanilla cake mix, except that instead of the water, I poured in the same amount of Skinny Girl Margarita (my personal fav; I like that it isn’t too sweet, which makes for a great balance with the cupcakes). I added a little lime zest for added flavor, and baked them just like Betty Crocker instructed me to do.

But here’s my naughty little twist: before frosting them, I dipped each one into a cup of margarita, so that the cupcakes would absorb a little more booze.

For the frosting, I made a regular old butter cream (1 stick of butter, 1 box of powdered sugar, 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract, about 3/4 cup of milk or cream) and added lime zest and the juice of about 2 limes.

On each cupcake I sprinkled a teensy bit of salt, and then garnished with a small lime wedge.

Who knew cupcakes could be so sexy?

I would love, love, love to hear about some of your favorite fun treats for Girls’ Night In!

XO, Rachel

Comments on: "Margarita Cupcakes!" (2)

  1. Wow, these cupcakes look absolutely AMAZING! YUM!

  2. Thanks! These were a big hit, and so easy to make too!

Leave a Reply

