So, since 2011 has “been so crazy” for uh, 3 months now, I suppose I should be writing something about now, right?

Those who know me know that my voice is sometimes, well, loud. I like to think that it just carries because loudness sounds more intentional, and I don’t usually intend for people across the room to hear me. Once in a while I embarrass myself this way, but for the most part I find it to be a quality of mine that I don’t mind so much.

But if you were to pin a voice to my writing, I’d say that lately it’s become barely above a whisper. And I am not just talking about a lack of blogging; by my writerly voice I think that I mean the confidence to actually sit down and write something, maybe the hesitation to make an idea more permanent, maybe a fear of committing to something by writing it, because don’t I often judge others by what they write, and do I really want to be that indulgent, because at the end of the day who really cares about what I have to say?

But yesterday I had my students write their responses to quotes from writers, and this one really resonated with both them and me:

And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing
guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity
is self-doubt.

–Sylvia Plath

Leave it to the crazy chick with daddy issues to say something I actually like.

And so yeah, fucking write already, Rachel. Things in your life are worth blogging about.

For instance:
In January/ February I took a sailing class in Newport. We learned to sail little boats that look like this:

I’m not gonna lie: it was challenging and at times terrifying. With those little boats, it is only you and another classmate maneuvering that boat through the bay, while the instructor cruises around in a small motor boat, yelling orders through a bullhorn. Those little boats can capsize easily, and while I have always been a good swimmer, the thought of falling in the bay terrified me. Every time we docked at the end of class, my hands were still shaking so much that it was difficult to de-rig the boat! But it was such a great experience, and I plan on taking the class again this Summer, when I have more time (and the water is warmer in case I go for an unplanned swim).

I’ve also been making cheese! I had one wheel of cheddar that turned out to be a huge disappointment, but I have some gouda that I have been snacking on this week, and I am really proud of my goat cheese. Oh, and I am aging a wheel of Parmesan that looks and smells delicious!
Here’s some goat cheese I made with herbs de Provence:

Expect many more blogs about cheese.

Recently I was out hiking in Joshua Tree (love love love) and I couldn’t get over how happy the Joshua trees make me. I mean really, how can you not look at them and think they are doing some funky dance that you want to join in on?

I found this picture on the internets, and see! Look how happy they look!

Yes,I amuse myself by making up wacky dance moves out in the middle of the desert, and I am proud of it!

Leave a Reply

