So two people named Tim have pointed out to me that I have not updated my blog in quite some time. People actually read this?! That surprises me, especially because I imagine anyone that does read it finishes a post and feels like I have just cheated him or her out of 15 minutes of life that he/she will never get back. And that kind of makes me feel guilty, ya know?
But I do this for me, just to keep track of some of the seemingly less significant things going on in my life. Sort of like scrapbooking, only a hell of a lot cooler.

Lately, any of those times that I am pretending to pay attention to what is going on, and perhaps have a glazed over expression, one of the following things is most likely on my mind:

1. Football! I don’t even know where to begin with the Free Agency madness. As a Jets fan, I am conflicted about Plaxico Burress. I had him on my fantasy team in ’08, and after he shot himself, everything went wrong with my team. It broke my heart. I don’t trust Plaxico. Then again, what if he has an awesome post-prison comeback a la Michael Vick? Also, I can’t stand the Patriots, and I am so curious about what this Brady-Ochocinco pairing could be like.

2. Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie.

It’s one of those books that I can’t believe I made it through grad school having not read. I’m only about half way through it, but it is really, really good so far. I want to finish it up before the semester starts next week, but I am not seeing much free time in the upcoming week.

3. Weeds. Much of July was spent watching the seasons on Netflix. I can’t get enough of it. One of my favorite moments occurs in season 3 when Nancy gets a tattoo of a U-Turn sign to remind her what U-Turn, the gangster who died, said to her: “Thug means NEVER apologizing.” When she explains what the tattoo (and thus this more specific definition of thug)to the tattoo artist, he responds, “Huh. Never apologizing. I thought that was supposed to be love.”
Nancy replies, “No, love means always saying you’re sorry.”
Truth.

4. You knew there were going to be shoes.

Love.
Love.
Love.

5. Watch the Throne . I’ve listened to this album a few times this week, and each time I listen, I like it more and more. I’ve been reading several reviews of it, and while I agree that it could be a little more cohesive, I still really like it. It’s much more introspective than I thought it would be, and overall, it’s just some great music. Hate either or both of them all you want, but you cannot deny that Kanye and Jay-Z both have musical genius.

6. “Always do sober what you said you’d do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut,” said Ernest Hemingway. I think that is some sound advice. So in the spirit of that, I finally did what I’ve said for a long time I should do, which is register for online classes to get a real estate broker’s license.I feel it is time I put my money where my mouth is. I am especially driven to do this since a certain person who is a complete tool doubted my ability to do so. I don’t even know what I would do with this license, but having it would just mean a lot of personal satisfaction, an epic moment of “How do you like me now, sucka!”

7. Animals at the top of the food chain. Sharks and bears in particular. The shark obsession is overflow from Shark Week a couple of weeks ago. How amazing are sharks– they eat sushi for every meal, and they test things by biting. Why don’t I get to decide what I want to eat by biting it first and then making up my mind?! Bears because, well, I’ve always loved bears. I was disappointed that I didn’t get to see any last weekend in Mammoth. Bears live the life– fishing, hiking, playing,climbing trees,stealing food from dumb humans, hibernating. And they get to have an awesome roar!

8. Running. This week, for the first time in a long time, running finally felt good again. That runner’s high kicked in, and I can now remember why I used to love running. I’m a little worried that once this semester begins I won’t be able to run as frequently as I’d like to, and I am determined to make running a priority. When I get into a good consistent routine of it, I feel so much more energized. Oh, and the part about eating what I want without feeling as guilty is an added bonus.

9. Messing with OCD people by ending a list at #9.

Leave a Reply

