It’s a shame that the Healthy Choice sandwich place/Starbucks in Langsdorf Hall is so conveniently located in the same building as my office, because the service there really, really sucks. If it wasn’t the closest cup of coffee to my office, I’d never go in there. The people who work there never smile at customers or make eye contact, and for some reason they shout questions at you about your order so quickly that you can barely even understand what they’re asking– like, “DOYOUWANTYOURBAGETOASTEDANDWITHCREAMCHEESE?” Huh? Oh. My bagel. Yes, I’ll take it toasted with a side of cream cheese. They also shout across the room to one another, or ignore customers while texting, or talk to one another loudly in Spanish while making drinks or sandwiches. It’s just rude I get better service at the Del Taco drive-thru. (That’s another thing Del Taco really has going for them. Is it just me or are the people who work there always really friendly?)

Sometimes I wonder if my patience is just short with this place because if I am going in there I am either in a hurry, really hungry, or in need of caffeine– any of these scenarios would mean that I am not at my best. But still, there’s a level of professionalism and work ethic that come with any job, whether you are a high powered attorney or if you make sandwiches at a shop on a college campus. The people who work there are just lazy and rude and it annoys me to no end.

There was a guy from India that spoke very little English working there last semester. I liked him, because he really hooked up the avocado on sandwiches, so he is excluded from my rant.

Leave a Reply

