Today was an absolutely gorgeous day: 80 degrees and sunny. Now, normally I would whine about 80 degree weather in the middle of January, but since I spent the first part of the week visiting a friend in Boston, this late-Spring weather was a very welcome change.

When I got to Boston, I commented on how I had never actually seen snowfall. Then, a few days later, Boston got a “Nor’Easter;” otherwise known as a blizzard. Yeah, I have witchy powers like that.

Here are some pictures I took of the blizzard from my phone:


Yes, it was beautiful, and even more beautiful in person. But I am so thankful that I don’t live in such a climate.

In the beginning it was fun, and such a novelty to bundle up and put on gloves, a hat, a scarf, thick socks, boots, and a coat. Until I got on a train, where the temperature would be 90 degrees, and less than a minute later I’d be sweating and feeling nauseated. So I’d take off all of the extra accessories, only to have to put them back on a few moments later when we came up to my stop.

Also, as I watched the peaceful snowfall from the window, I noticed the neighbors rushing out to shovel out there cars, as the snow still drifted down. “Why don’t they just wait until it stops?” I asked my friend. Remember, I was born and raised in Southern California. “Because if they wait too long, it will all ice over, and then you just have to wait for it to thaw. And it happens pretty quickly.”

What the ?! Holy crap, that sucks. The same goes for the driveway, sidewalk and steps. My friend is fortunate enough to live in an apartment and doesn’t own a car, and I cannot fathom why anyone in the city would choose to live otherwise.

But Boston is a beautiful city. There’s so much history, the buildings are lovely, the people are charming, and the food is amazing. I also really dig a good Boston accent. As we walked out of the airport and boarded the blue line, one of the security guys greeted us and declared that it was “a wicked cold night” and other things that I could not understand since his accent was so thick! Love it!

But now that I am back and the weather is so much kinder, I decided that a nice hike would be a great way to work off all of the fish and chips and boston cream pie I pigged out on earlier in the week. So imagine my disappointment when I drove all the way down to Crystal Cove state park, only to find that the trails were washed away in the recent storms and are closed to the public. Normally I’d scoff at the signs and hike anyway, but some other people told me that they were ticketing for trespassing. Yeah, no bueno.

So I came back to Fullerton and decided to exploring some of the trails that make up the Fullerton Loop. The Fullerton Loop really is a great trail, and I spent a couple of hours trying to navigate my way through a city I thought I knew pretty well.
And that is one of the things I love about Fullerton: just when you think that you know the city, you stumble upon something unexpected and wonderful. The Fullerton Trail is one such place, and Craig park is one of my all time favorite places to escape to. But also places like Max Bloom’s Cafe Noir, Veronese Gallery Cafe, The Commonwealth Post Office (yes, the post office. I love that one!), Les Amis Lebanese cafe (om nom nom!) the Villa Del Sol plaza… they all help make Fullerton unique.

Fullerton might not have as many famous landmarks as a city like Boston, but it’s home and it always brings a smile to my face. Especially on a day like today.

Leave a Reply

