Ch-Ch-Changes

Golden Girls is one of my all time favorite shows; those ladies never fail to crack me up and I love the late- 80s fashion and pop culture jokes. They play several episodes in a row on the Hallmark channel, and I leave it on as background noise while I work in the evenings. But the Hallmark channel seems to think that the only audience who would enjoy the show also need One-A-Day Menopause formula, Activia yogurt, and wart removers.
You don’t have to be an old lady to enjoy a show about old ladies!

Last night I watched The Rachel Zoe project on Bravo. I’ve seen it a few times, and I figured I’d like it– Bravo is the purveyor of many of my guilty pleasures, and a show about a Rachel must be awesome. Then she goes around and dresses and accessorizes celebrities. I thought I’d love it, and yet I can’t sit through an entire episode. Which has made me watch a few more, to try to figure out why it bothers me so much (I know, neurotic, right?).

I think what bothers me is that for some reason, the people on the show are so stressed out. And I can’t figure out why! I mean, really? I can understand being a little bit obsessive about matching the right accessories and all, but stressed to the point of illness? Is not getting the right pair of shoes really a legitimate cause for a meltdown?
I get the feeling that it is really more for dramatic effect, but I don’t find that kind of drama compelling. I just can’t relate to it.

I’ve come across people in real life who have a similar problem– for reasons I don’t understand, their lives are also so stressful. My roommate is this way: her job stresses her out; she comes home and announces dramatically that she “made it through another day,” takes anxiety medication, and declares that some day, she is going to find a career that she enjoys.
Now, she works in billing. It isn’t like her job is particularly stressful. I can understand not liking her job, but I don’t understand why she lets it stress her out so much. I also don’t understand why she doesn’t just look for another job.

I think that most people’s stress is their own making. Sometimes we put ourselves into stressful situations; I do this a lot by taking on too many projects or obligations, and I have to suck it up and deal with it. Other times we can’t help it, and crappy things do happen to us, and we have to remind ourselves that it will soon pass. But if a stressful position is one that a person has put his or herself into (a job is a perfect example: you do make the choice every day to go to work, after all), the only person responsible for the stress is the person who is stressed. It is a matter of taking responsibility and control over your own happiness. If you’re unhappy in a current situation, change it; don’t wait for the change.

It reminds me a lot of a quote from Maya Angelou that is simple and yet so wise: “If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude.”

Which is why I change the channel when a show is about unnecessary stress. 🙂

Comments on: "Ch-Ch-Changes" (2)

  1. Love it! Not the Golden Girls, but the whole mindset of changing the things you don't particularly like about your life situation. I mean it is YOUR life, make it something that you enjoy and like living. Lots of good points, great blog.

  2. Love it! Not the Golden Girls, but the whole mindset of changing the things you don't particularly like about your life situation. I mean it is YOUR life, make it something that you enjoy and like living. Lots of good points, great blog.

Leave a Reply

